The Canary Islands is the only Spanish Outermost Region. It offers its visitors a land of contrasts and a meeting place of cultures. It has a varied and dynamic leisure, cultural, sporting and conference offer. Its official currency is the Euro.


The archipelago is geographically located about 100 kilometres off the west coast of Africa. It is made up of seven islands: Lanzarote, Fuerteventura, Gran Canaria, Tenerife, La Gomera, La Palma and El Hierro.

The islands are of volcanic origin. They are part of the natural region of Macaronesia, together with the archipelagos of Cape Verde, Azores, Madeira and Salvajes.

Total area: 7,492.36 square kilometres.

Population: 2,025,951 inhabitants.

La Gomera is one of the seven islands that make up the Canary Islands.
Christopher Columbus, before his expedition to the Indies, made a stopover in La Gomera in 1492.